Meet our Authors: Daniel Cojocaru – November 2016

Daniel Cojocaru received his DPhil from Oxford University in 2011, and has since taught English Literature at the University of Oxford and the University of Zurich.

cojocaruHis research focuses on contemporary fiction and film, literary theory, and literature and the Bible. He currently teaches English at the Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland, Switzerland.

Daniel contributed to Dystopia(n) Matters: On the Page, on Screen, on Stage with Cambridge Scholars before writing his first book, Violence and Dystopia: Mimesis and Sacrifice in Contemporary Western Dystopian Narratives, which “exemplifies responsible, searching scholarship” according to Dr Andrew Bartlett of Kwantlen Polytechnic University.

Daniel explains how he came to publish his first book with Cambridge Scholars and describes the experience:

I first became aware of Cambridge Scholars Publishing when, in the early days of my doctoral thesis, I was reading the Cambridge Scholars-published City Visions: The Work of Iain Sinclair. The range and quality of the essays substantially helped furthering my own research. A few years later one of my own articles was published in a collection of essays with Cambridge Scholars – a collection that featured work by leading scholars of utopian studies (Dystopia(n) Matters On the Page, on Screen, on Stage). The volume had quite an impact on the field and thus increased the visibility and reach of my own work.

“Remembering these very positive experiences, Cambridge Scholars was my first choice when I was looking for a publisher for my doctoral thesis. As I had not published a book before, I was unfamiliar with the necessary steps of publication. The professional and friendly staff at Cambridge Scholars (Sam Baker, Amanda Millar, David Luscombe, Anthony Wright and Victoria Carruthers deserve special mention here) guided me through all the steps from preparing the manuscript to the cover design. The many queries I had were often answered within a day or less. I also appreciated the author-led schedule of the publication process.

“Less than a year after Cambridge Scholars accepted my proposal I held my first book in my hands – the elegant material product of a successful collaboration. Since then the book has been very favourably reviewed and has been acquired by libraries from all around the world – a testimony to Cambridge Scholars’ widespread distribution network and professional marketing campaign.”

As part of the Meet our Authors campaign, we are offering our readers a 50% discount on Violence and Dystopia: Mimesis and Sacrifice in Contemporary Western Dystopian Narratives. To redeem your discount, please enter the promotional code MOANOV16 during checkout. Please note that this is a time-limited offer that will expire on 15th December 2016.

Leave a Reply

